pattern drafting.

Published July 27, 2012 by princeshinkei

Summer is almost over for me and I’ll have to go back to school and such.  I’ve been procrastinating long enough and I didn’t work on any of my cosplays.  Only thing I did was fix the buttons for my Starry Sky outfit by handsewing.  So I decided to start working on my cosplays this week.  I have about 2.5 weeks left before I go back to school.  I wonder if I can finish on time…

I began drafting a circle skirt for my Flandre cosplay.  The outfit I made for her the first time was horrid.  I didn’t even finish on time, I left out details and really I felt awful that I did such a bad job.  I’m no pro at sewing, but I could have done better.  The skirt was the worst part of the cosplay, so I’m starting off with the skirt this time.

That was taken by my baby sister [she’s like 8 but still a baby sister to me] of me drafting the outfit.  Like the toy animals I used as paperweights?

me drafting

This was the outcome of the pattern.  I washed my Kona Cotton cloth to preshrink it and the fabric actually shrunk…so I ended up having to open up the whole piece of cloth and cut two pieces rather than just cutting once on folded fabric.  I don’t like seams…but it couldn’t be helped.  Is it possible to buy preshrunk fabric?

circle on cloth

2 comments on “pattern drafting.

  • It is possible to buy preshrunk fabric :3 but it is a lot more expensive. next time just throw the whole uncut fabric into the wash and then cut the pattern afterwards lol 😀 saves you the trouble.

    • Haha that’s what I did, but my cotton actually shrunk so I ended up having to cut my circle skirt into separate pieces and then sewing it together versus my lining material didn’t shrink. ;X

  • Leave a Reply

