time consuming ruffles.

Published August 2, 2012 by princeshinkei

I started getting lazy, I’ve still been sewing, but just not as much and I get distracted easily. So time to start updating this blog regularly again to keep me on track! Wow I wasn’t expecting to take so long on ruffles.  The idea behind it seems simple but it took me one whole day just to cut, iron, and sew 294 inches of ruffles [and I was still short, had to make some more].  I had to cut out five and a half 4 x 28 pieces of cloth and sew them together.

pattern

Looks so nice all cut out….still so much to do though.

cut

I also overcasted the whole piece as well.

serge

I would say this part was the most fun part of the experience.  I was going to hand gather it, but due to the nature of the material, it gathered by itself.  Tension wasn’t even high.

gather

And….DONE!  Nice ruffles that needs attaching now.

ruffles

I attached the ruffles on the skirt with pins to see what it would look like.  I would have to say I really like how “ruffly” it looks.

skirt

I was very pleased with the outcome and I felt really successful!  Next post, I’ll be putting the ruffles on the actual skirt.

2 comments on “time consuming ruffles.

  • Leave a Reply

